Weybridge Rowing Club - Spreadbury Cup

The Spreadbury Cup is a large silver trophy. It was instituted shortly after World War II by Bob Spreadbury.

The Cup is awarded at the Annual Dinner to the person who - in the opinion of the retiring Captain - has contributed most to the Club's well-being over the past year. Here is its story.

Outside his professional career Mr. Robert Cleveland (Bob) Spreadbury was a keen musician and was band master of the Weybridge Military Band and Tarrrant's Band of Byfleet. The cup which bears his name was presented to him by the members of Tarrant's Band in recognition of his services to them as their conductor. 'Bob' became Honorary Treasurer of the Club in the late 1920's, a post which he held until his death in March 1950 at the age of 77, having seen the club successfully through some of the bleakest financial periods in its history. As a mark of appreciation, in September 1944 he was made an Honorary Life Member and presented with a silver tankard to mark the occasion.

On his death the 'Tarrant' cup was presented to the club in his memory to be awarded annually to the member who is adjudged to have made the most meritorious contribution to the well-being of the club during the preceding year. Indirectly this cup is also a fitting tribute to the contribution made collectively by the Spreadbury family to rowing over a long period of time.

Bob's elder son, Eric, was a keen oarsman and sculler and was chosen as reserve for the Weybridge Olympic crew in 1924. He too was a keen musician but tragically he was killed in a motorcycle accident in 1926. His younger son, Cyril, was also well known in rowing circles for his outstanding dedication to the sport both at Weybridge R.C. and at St. George's College Boat Club, where he taught many boys the art of rowing. Cyril was Club Captain for 8 years in the 1930s and 1940s and a stalwart of the Club in the middle part of the 20th century. He was a hard-working individual, always willing to coach and help the crews. He was Club President in the 1960s.

Bob's daughter, Joan, was also a lifetime supporter of the club, commencing by selling regatta programmes at an early age and graduating to organising meals and other supporting functions at both club and open regattas. Her husband, George Kenyon, was a distinguished oarsman and highly-respected member of Weybridge Rowing Club. Their son, Robert, still actively follows the Club's progress, and rowed for Weybridge since the 1970s.

The Cup is awarded at the Annual Dinner to the person who - in the opinion of the retiring Captain - has contributed most to the Club's well-being over the past year. That person will have followed in Cyril's footsteps by advancing the Club's interests beyond his/her own. It is rarely presented to a current officer, who by definition, should be a hard-working person; it normally goes to a 'rank-and-file' member whose work might have gone largely unrecognised. It is not normally awarded more than once to the same person.

It is purposefully not aimed at recognising rowing or athletic prowess. The Club's highest achiever at regattas will already have a set of pots to show for that effort. Previous winners have included those running the bar or events, maintaining the boats, towing the trailer, keeping the club spick-and-span, or coaching or coxing at all levels.

Winning the Spreadbury Cup is more than keeping custody of the trophy for 12 months; it permits "membership for life" of a team of people who have made a real difference at Weybridge RC over the years. To that end, Cup winners are invited to enjoy a biennial dinner at the Club where the latest winners can be welcomed to group. Moreover, like-minded people, young and not-so-young, can enjoy exchanging stories of club life over the years. These gatherings occur in the spring of 'even' years and are currently organised by Greg Jones (winner in 1976).

The ethos of the Spreadbury Cup is to recognise exceptional effort, not necessarily length of service. Several winners went on to become Club captains after receiving the Cup, including the 50th recipient, David Grayston. The Cup has only twice been jointly awarded, and only three times has it gone to a previous winner.

For many years, the costs of maintaining the Cup and the individual tankard for the new recipient to keep for life were generously met by Bob Spreadbury's grandson, Robert Kenyon. Nowadays, the Club bears the cost itself.

In 2000, Mark Johnson (winner in 1990) kindly provided a delightful oak board which is mounted in the clubroom and bears all of the winners' names.

2017 marked the 70th year of the Spreadbury Cup.

 Spreadbury Cup Winners

1948 H. C. Street

1949 I. D. Barclay

1950 A. P. Swain

1951 R. J. Morris

1952 J. H. Smithers

1953 T. P. A. Poulter

1954 G. A. Illston

1955 J. L. Bray

1956 B. E. Cox

1957 E. J. Goree

1958 G. A. Thwaite

1959 T. C. Preskett

1960 J. H. Lennard

1961 J. L. Bray

1962 J. R. Burnett

1963 R. J. Hussey

1964 J. E. Cox

1965 C. D. Cousin

1966 B. H. May

1967 L. F. Balding

1968 D. H. Barker

1969 I. W. Pratt

1970 J. M. Taylor

1971 A. V. Bowman & T. J. Goldhawk (jointly)

1972 A. Cooke

1973 D. Cox

1974 W. Stagg

1975 J. H. Shore

1976 G. J. Gregory-Jones

1977 S. Hudson

1978 P. P. Bulmer

1979 D. J. Roy

1980 M. A. Pride

1981 I. M. Nicoll

1982 S. Richardson

1983 J. L. Munn

1984 A. R. Tilling

1985 R. A. King

1986 E. F. Cropper (Miss)

1987 R. Edwards

1988 C. A. Adamson (Mrs)

1989 F. M. Keyzor (Ms)

1990 M. Johnson

1991 J. Harris (Mrs) & R. Harris (jointly)

1992 I. Shore

1993 M. Cumpper

1994 B. Belcher

1995 C. Boon

1996 A. G. Edwards

1997 D. Grayston

1998 N.M. Gower

1999 C.M. Turnbull (Mrs)

2000 C. Boon

2001 E. Klaeijsen (Miss)

2002 C.E. Allaway (Miss)

2003 D. Murdoch

2004 O. Rogers

2005 J.W.S. Beagley

2006 C. Capel

2007 S. Heywood

2008 N.Coxhead

2009 T. M. Westbey (Mrs)

2010 G. Shaw (Mrs)

2011 P. G. Morley

2012 N. Coxhead

2013 G. Cocks

2014 G. Campbell

2015 P.R. Lawson

2016 A. Morris (Mrs)

2017 S. Pickering (Mrs)