Weybridge Silver Sculls

Winners of the Demerara Cup

A silver cup with two loop handles on a silver and black stand
The inscription on the cup is "for the Weybridge School Sculling Head", which for some years was notionally a separate event from the Weybridge Silver Sculls. In practice the Junior scullers followed on immediately behind the Senior competitors, in the days when the size of the entry was such that the complete race could be run without need for more than one Division. In recent times the Demerara Cup has been given to the fastest Junior (under 18) sculler in any Division of the race. The original rule was that a Junior was not eligible to win the Silver Sculls trophy, even if his time was better than all the Senior competitors. Should he now be the fastest overall, he also receives the Silver Sculls.

The cup was presented by Mr Frank Gomes, a member of Weybridge Rowing Club who came from Guyana.

1957D W M DevereuxWestminster School 
1958J D RussellWestminster School17:08
1959A J SaundersWestminster School15:02
1960W L PavryWestminster School17:24
1961J P CarpenterBradford G S15:27
1962D TopolskiWestminster School14:08
1963A J CowleyRamsey G S15:21
1964D F EarlNorwich School14:45
1965J P W HawksleyEmanuel School14:05
1966T J CrooksRadley College18:40
1967C L BaillieuRadley College15:41
1968C L BaillieuRadley College15:18
1969C M DruryEmanuel School14:03
1970M H LinesRadley college14:05
1971M J WebbWeybridge R C15:27
1972A W HudsonWestminster School13:38
1973D R H BeakRadley College14:20
1974C P Henniker-HeatonEton College18:22
1975K P SwainStrodes College14:00
1976H E MarsdenEton College15:37
1977I GoldPoplar Blackwall & District14:13
1978S G RedgraveMarlow R C13:50
1979S G RedgraveMarlow R C13:21
1980S G RedgraveMarlow R C14:20
1981B McMullanWalton R C14:10
1982No Race
1983C A BuckleyReading R C13:44
1984R D T EveringtonWalton R C16:16
1985G D P WaltersWorcester R C13:53
1986G D P WaltersWorcester R C14:22
1987No Race
1988G M P SearleHampton School15:03
1989G M P SearleHampton School14:40
1990T WebberMarlow R C13:18
1991B ThatcherQuintin B C13:26
1992G PeachHampton School15:07
1993No Race
1994S J LeeWalton R C13:14
1995A BirdSt Edward's School13:17
1996M HunterPoplar Blackwall & District14:11
1997N MaynardSt George's College13:35
1998R O ElleraSt George's College14:00
1999R O ElleraSt George's College13:35
2000E A BoynsHampton School16:00
2001J DunleyDulwich College14:29
2002D S ReadHenley R C13:47
2003J E MountainDulwich College13:42
2004B S ThomasSt George's College14:48
J W WedlakeWalton R C14:48
2005O CollinsWalton RC13:02
2006L KnollmanWalton RC15:25
2007J WedlakeWalton RC15:11
2008M TatlockTiffin School14:29
2009E BradburyImperial College14:04
2010T BarrasBurway RC14:10
2011G BradburyWestminster School13:05
2012No Race
2013C KerrWestminster School13:48
2014J ArmstrongGlasgow Academy RC14:50
2015S WilliamsRGS High Wycombe BC13:35
2016T DarlowMolesey BC13:48